Extra Credit Opportunity: Country Concert

Rising country music artist Jeff Allen will present a free concert at 7 p.m. on Wednesday, Sept. 15, in Gorilla Village, just east of Carnie Smith Stadium on the Pittsburg State University Campus. The concert is sponsored by the Student Activities Council. In case of rain, the concert will be held in the Crimson and Gold Ballroom of the Overman Student Center.

“Raised on Gettin’ By” is Allen’s first album and much of it is his own personal story. The Canton, Texas, native wrote or co-wrote 8 of the 11 songs for the project.

Allen said he recorded the classic Tom T. Hall song, “Me & Jesus,” as a tribute to his late grandfather, Virgil Porter.

“I remember waking up at my grandparents’ house to the smell of breakfast and the sound of my grandfather singing that song. It still brings tears to my eyes,” said Allen. “I’m so proud of this record and I really love singing every song on it.”

Allen has opened for a number of national performers including Emerson Drive, Randy Travis, Vince Gill, Little Big Town, and Big and Rich. More about the artist and his music can be found at his website, jeffallenmusic.com.